Dead On

I love this show. Period. I don’t usually start watching something from the beginning because so much quality tv gets axed before it’s given a real chance to find an audience. But how could I resist zombies in the ATL? And on basic cable? I couldn’t.

(Wanna know a secret? I don’t like to be grossed out. Don’t get near me with a runny nose. I will gag. I prefer to be scared. So the fact that I wanted to see this proved I thought basic cable would protect me. Not so…and I’m loving every gory minute. )

Zombie movies are notoriously gross…but you gotta feel bad for them, right? They don’t know what they’re doing. They’re just hungry. I know I get all kinds of crabby when my stomach growls…

(SPOILER ALERT)

What can I possibly say about a tv show that starts out with a sheriff’s deputy shooting a child zombie in the head? And looking so sad after he does it? I say, “Game on!”

The first episode was long…and kind of draggy…but that was good. Lots of character exposition and it just made the ending pack more of a wallop. How could they top zombies chomping on a horse? I didn’t think they could..but episode 2 found our survivors axing a dead zombie and smearing the viscera all over them so they could walk among the walking dead undetected.

This show does not hold back: bats, shovels and axes to the head. Lots of shooting, some sex (but not zombie sex, ’cause that would just be too much, wouldn’t it?), redneck racism and some swearing.  The guy who plays our hero has a pretty good southern accent…and that’s cool since he’s British. And I hope that somewhere in the next 4 episodes Rick is faced with the choice of saving his bitchy, cheating wife or his best friend (who’s sleeping with her!) from raging zombies…and I hope he picks his friend! The wife’s so sour I think even a zombie would spit her out!

Yesterday, AMC picked up The Walking Dead for a second season. I’ve already started writing a letter asking them to bring the Zombie Apocalypse to Savannah. After all…it’s just down the road from Atlanta and even zombies need a vacation once in a while, don’t they?

About Humdinger

On the air...behind the scenes. I'm TV duct tape.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment